• Welcome to the Checkmate Community Forums forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and access to our other FREE features.
    By joining our free community you will be able to:

» Interact with over 10,000 Checkmate Fanatics from around the world!
    » Post topics and messages
    » Post and view photos
    » Communicate privately with other members
    » Access our extensive gallery of old Checkmate brochures located in our Media Gallery
    » Browse the various pictures in our Checkmate photo gallery

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support by clicking here or by using the"contact us" link at the bottom of the page.

is 350 horse too much for an alpha 1

Ryan

i have a 1986 checkmate 20 ambassador with a 350 that i am going to have rebuilt or replaced. the engine shop that i went to had a 350 bored .40 over with all kinds of other goodies. he said it puts out about 350 horse is this too much for my alpha 1. if so what would be the most an alpha could handle. thanks
ryan diaz

i have a 1986 checkmate 20 ambassador with a 350 that i am going to have rebuilt or replaced. the engine shop that i went to had a 350 bored .40 over with all kinds of other goodies. he said it puts out about 350 horse is this too much for my alpha 1. if so what would be the most an alpha could handle. thanks
ryan diaz

I do not recommend it, about 300 is the Max that Merc suggest, you will have to baby the drive too much, You have to be real easy with the throttle getting on plane, and if the boat ever launches, you have to be real easy back on it and you mite as well forget spinning any wheels more than three blades, they provide too much bite